helper/command: handle empty "usage" with add_help_text/add_usage_text 25/5025/2
authorAntonio Borneo <borneo.antonio@gmail.com>
Sat, 30 Mar 2019 10:19:47 +0000 (11:19 +0100)
committerTomas Vanek <vanekt@fbl.cz>
Sun, 7 Apr 2019 07:19:52 +0000 (08:19 +0100)
By using the command "add_help_text" to add a help text to a TCL
procedure it implicitly creates a new command_registration struct
that has field .usage set to NULL. This triggers a debug message
BUG: command '%s' does not have the '.usage' field filled out

Use an empty string if usage field is NULL.

Plus, do not annoy the user with a LOG_INFO when the command
"add_usage_text" replaces an empty usage.

Change-Id: I4a72646e0fb704ba354f938d774055540cde3967
Signed-off-by: Antonio Borneo <borneo.antonio@gmail.com>
Reviewed-on: http://openocd.zylin.com/5025
Tested-by: jenkins
Reviewed-by: Tomas Vanek <vanekt@fbl.cz>
src/helper/command.c

index 869eff5..ec66c2d 100644 (file)
@@ -1119,7 +1119,7 @@ int help_add_command(struct command_context *cmd_ctx, struct command *parent,
                        .name = cmd_name,
                        .mode = COMMAND_ANY,
                        .help = help_text,
-                       .usage = usage,
+                       .usage = usage ? : "",
                };
                nc = register_command(cmd_ctx, parent, &cr);
                if (NULL == nc) {
@@ -1144,8 +1144,9 @@ int help_add_command(struct command_context *cmd_ctx, struct command *parent,
        if (usage) {
                bool replaced = false;
                if (nc->usage) {
+                       if (*nc->usage)
+                               replaced = true;
                        free(nc->usage);
-                       replaced = true;
                }
                nc->usage = strdup(usage);
                if (replaced)