update NEWS with recent developments
authorZachary T Welch <zw@superlucidity.net>
Fri, 20 Nov 2009 15:06:32 +0000 (07:06 -0800)
committerZachary T Welch <zw@superlucidity.net>
Wed, 25 Nov 2009 20:08:06 +0000 (12:08 -0800)
Mention changes to flash bank command syntax, 'nand verify' command,
command error handling and reporting, and help/usage command upgrades.

NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 0dcc4bc..a0bf43c 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -16,13 +16,30 @@ Target Layer:
                - accelerated GDB memory checksum
 
 Flash Layer:
+       'flash bank' and 'nand device' take <bank_name> as first argument.
+       With this, flash/NAND commands allow referencing banks by name:
+               - <bank_name>: reference the bank with its defined name
+               - <driver_name>[.N]: reference the driver's Nth bank
+       New 'nand verify' command to check bank against an image file.
+
 Board, Target, and Interface Configuration Scripts:
        ARM9
                - ETM and ETB hookup for iMX2* targets
        Add $HOME/.openocd to the search path.
 
+Core Jim/TCL Scripting:
+       New 'usage' command to provide terse command help.
+       Improved command 'help' command output (sorted and indented).
+       Improved command handling:
+               - Most boolean settings now accept any of the following:
+                 on/off, enable/disable, true/false, yes/no, 1/0
+               - More error checking and reporting.
+
 Documentation:
+       New built-in command development documentation and primer.
+
 Build and Release:
+       Use --enable-doxygen-pdf to build PDF developer documentation.
 
 For more details about what has changed since the last release,
 see the git repository history.  With gitweb, you can browse that