stm32f7x: Use CHIPNAME-specific name for ITCM bank 02/5102/3
authorChristopher Head <chead@zaber.com>
Wed, 10 Apr 2019 21:16:13 +0000 (14:16 -0700)
committerFreddie Chopin <freddie.chopin@gmail.com>
Thu, 23 May 2019 19:04:25 +0000 (20:04 +0100)
Change-Id: Icf67eaecd56ac3fb88bcfa2b7084b846109454e6
Signed-off-by: Christopher Head <chead@zaber.com>
Reviewed-on: http://openocd.zylin.com/5102
Tested-by: jenkins
Reviewed-by: Freddie Chopin <freddie.chopin@gmail.com>
tcl/target/stm32f7x.cfg

index 927a3e8..ba1d12f 100755 (executable)
@@ -51,9 +51,18 @@ set _FLASHNAME $_CHIPNAME.flash
 flash bank $_FLASHNAME stm32f2x 0 0 0 0 $_TARGETNAME
 flash bank $_CHIPNAME.otp stm32f2x 0x1ff0f000 0 0 0 $_TARGETNAME
 
-# Configuring the Flash via ITCM alias as virtual
-set _FLASH_ITCM_VMA itcm-flash.alias
-flash bank $_FLASH_ITCM_VMA virtual 0x00200000 0 0 0 $_TARGETNAME $_FLASHNAME
+# On the STM32F7, the Flash is mapped at address 0x08000000 via the AXI and
+# also address 0x00200000 via the ITCM. The former mapping is read-write in
+# hardware, while the latter is read-only. By presenting an alias, we
+# accomplish two things:
+# (1) We allow writing at 0x00200000 (because the alias acts identically to the
+#     original bank), which allows code intended to run from that address to
+#     also be linked for loading at that address, simplifying linking.
+# (2) We allow the proper memory map to be delivered to GDB, which will cause
+#     it to use hardware breakpoints at the 0x00200000 mapping (correctly
+#     identifying it as Flash), which it would otherwise not do. Configuring
+#     the Flash via ITCM alias as virtual
+flash bank $_CHIPNAME.itcm-flash.alias virtual 0x00200000 0 0 0 $_TARGETNAME $_FLASHNAME
 
 # adapter speed should be <= F_CPU/6. F_CPU after reset is 16MHz, so use F_JTAG = 2MHz
 adapter_khz 2000