target, flash: prepare infrastructure for multi-block blank check 97/4297/8
authorTomas Vanek <vanekt@fbl.cz>
Thu, 23 Nov 2017 08:18:24 +0000 (09:18 +0100)
committerTomas Vanek <vanekt@fbl.cz>
Tue, 10 Apr 2018 05:16:40 +0000 (06:16 +0100)
commiteb8912ec38c0fd6867d2b5a88b40549f791ce7bb
treed5cca832fad51f70f1202506dd6cecfedd561378
parentf00d9bb1d7e6d52e62e7cfc402fda96f3544d911
target, flash: prepare infrastructure for multi-block blank check

'flash erase_check' command runs a check algorithm on a target
if possible. The algorithm is run repeatedly for each flash sector.
Unfortunately every start and stop of the algorithm impose not negligible
overhead.
In practice it means checking is faster than plain read only for
sectors of size approx 4 kByte or bigger. And checking sectors
as short as 512 bytes runs approx 4 times slower than plain read.

The patch changes API call target_blank_check_memory() and related
to take an array of sectors (or arbitrary memory blocks).

Changes in target-specific checking routines are kept minimal.
They use only the first block from the array and process it by
the unchanged algorithm.

default_flash_blank_check() routine repeats target_blank_check_memory()
until all blocks are checked, so it works with both multi-block
and single-block based checkers.

Change-Id: I0e6c60f2d71364c9c07c09416b04de9268807f5e
Signed-off-by: Tomas Vanek <vanekt@fbl.cz>
Reviewed-on: http://openocd.zylin.com/4297
Tested-by: jenkins
Reviewed-by: Andreas Bolsch <hyphen0break@gmail.com>
12 files changed:
src/flash/nor/at91sam7.c
src/flash/nor/core.c
src/target/arm.h
src/target/armv4_5.c
src/target/armv7m.c
src/target/armv7m.h
src/target/mips32.c
src/target/mips32.h
src/target/stm8.c
src/target/target.c
src/target/target.h
src/target/target_type.h